Sweet Treats are Made of These (Ginger Spice Cookies)

Amazon Kindle was having an awesome sale the other day and I was able to get a couple of Paleo cookbooks for free–score two for me! One of them was Delicious, Quick & Simple PALEO: Baking Recipes by Brian Y.T. and Marla Tetsuka (currently available on Amazon Kindle for $0.99!).

I have been jonesing (that’s an understatement) for sweets lately. Mostly in the form of Cherry Twizzlers. I went to the grocery store on Thursday and picked up some strawberry smoothie mix, which helped a little. But sweets have still been on my mind.

Yesterday evening I had a chance to sit and sift (pardon the pun) through my new paleo finds and look at recipes. I was mostly looking for recipes that I currently had all the ingredients for, and the Ginger Spice cookies fit the bill. Best part: they were soooooo simple to make. I don’t know if I’ve ever made such an un-complex cookie. Wisk ingredients together, throw in the freezer for 10 minutes, shape into 6 disks on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes. I think it took me a total of 30min to make the cookies…from start to finish.

Here’s what they looked like at the end:

Paleo Ginger Spice Cookies

#idoitallforthecookies

The recipe made six. But, I couldn’t resist and helped myself to one before I snapped the photo. They taste like gingerbread cookies and are moist.

The only unfortunate thing, is that for my sweetener, I used honey. That’s not a bad thing at all…for most people. However, I am noticing that I get heartburn like nobody’s business when I consume anything with honey in it–even if it’s not raw honey. Which is strange, because for most people, honey is supposed to HELP REDUCE heartburn, not create it. I looked it up on the internet (because the internet has answers to everything, right?) and apparently it does have the opposite affect on some people–I guess I’m just one of the lucky ones.

I’m thinking about attempting to paleo-fy some of my favorite non-paleo recipes. I’m a little nervous to do that though…some recipes just shouldn’t be messed with, you know? My favorite pastry is the Czech Cherry Kolache. It takes 4 hours to make, and has tons of butter, milk, and flour in it. There are substitutes for all of these things, I know…but I’m quite nervous to even attempt it. No one has ever become awesome without attempting it, right?

Encouragement would be appreciated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

